Blogpourri: Etymology, Resolutions, Been Awhile, ADD…

I’m Blogging This T-ShirtOkay, so it’s been a while… awhile… Actually more than one while… What the heck is a while anyway? Apparently it’s probably related to an Old Norse word for ‘bed’ or ‘rest’ and became it’s own word around the 13th-14th centuries, when is when it became a compound(ish) word.

Now that we’ve got that out of the way… This is the year of taking seriously the idea that my physical health must actually be managed. “Yeah, yeah, yeah…. anything else you say to me about your resolution is going to register with me as “Blah, blah, blah!” Nonetheless, my (probably) permanently damaged ankles will never permit (Let’s here it for alliteration!) me to run and jump as much as my gut needs me to. I used to depend on being perpetually active in sports: soccer, basketball, softball, running. But my ankles can’t support 240 pounds anymore. So… No pop (Yankee for soft drinks. See wikipedia, the online oracle, for naming conventions. Or check out http://www.popvssoda.com. You think I’m kidding?!) I digress: No pop. No fries. More water. We’ll see…

Sorry that it’s been a good while since I’ve blogged. I know that is certainly not something that pretty much anyone in the universe is staying up late wondering about, but I feel guilty nonetheless (How did that one become one word? Hmm…) Mea culpa.

BTW, I used to think language was static and followed well-defined rules, which of course, is not really at all true and not very postmodern of me (apologies to Foucoualt, Wittgenstein, Levi-Strauss, etc.) Now, I think it’s pretty cool when I come across made up words… blogpourri, e.g., I’m sure someone else has already used this. I saw a good one yesterday describing Michael Moore’s filmmaking… “shlockumentary.” That’s creative. (Never seen him, though. Can’t speak to its accuracy.) It’s akin to “mockumentary,” attributed largely to Rob Reiner’s “This is Spinal Tap” and, more recently, the awesome filmmaking of Christopher Guest. Which reminds me, I need to rent his last couple “joints” (vernacular for ‘film,’ thanks to Spike Lee.)

This blog post has been brought to you be ADD, with additional support from zeitgeist and ellipses…

Leave a Reply

