A Case for Pastors Hanging Out in Coffee Shops

Great little article about making “Coffeeshop Connections.” Here’s a particularly good thought:

Where else do soccer moms mingle with Goth kids dressed for the Friday night show? Or young, upwardly mobile commuters interact with a homeless man? Or a local pastor (me) interact regularly with anyone outside the church?

“Hmm… I wonder why you like this article, Scott?” OK, fine, so I’m just trying to bolster my own case. But, even in my case, at Cafe Mojoe, I’ve invited more people to church and had more substantive conversations with people I don’t know than I otherwise would. Just about a week-and-a-half ago I had a good 45-minute conversation with someone and I got a great chance to respond by showing how the gospel answers the questions we were discussing.

And yes, I know I need to balance this kind of community relationship building with pastoral care of the current flock, but, as the article states, our buildings are efficiently built to do relatively few things, one of which is to, on Sunday mornings, bring people in, sit them down, participate (hopefully) in worship, and send them out.

Whatever the case, these are good questions… Where would the church regularly go to interact with not-yet-Christians? I’m guessing outside the church is a good place to start. And, if you’re anything like me, a cup of coffee and a connected laptop are also of vital importance! :o)

Leave a Reply

