More Osteen Bashing, er, I mean, Analysis

Call me a jerk, negative, cynical, whatever, but this guy is trouble for the gospel in America. He says, in response to Larry King’s questions about the exclusivity of the Christian faith, “I don’t know if I believe that they’re wrong.”

What?! I’m telling ya, this guy is mainstream and beloved by many Bible-believing Christians in a way that Benny Hinn or Creflo Dollar never would be. I’ve heard people talk about how they like to listen to him because he’s so smiley and positive.

Smiley and positive?! What about watered-down?! Or, better yet, wrong?!

It’s one thing to say, “I’m a fallible human being who might not interpret God’s Word correctly in all places and who doesn’t feel comfortable making definitive pronouncements about an individual’s eternal status with God .” It’s entirely a different thing altogether to speak as if there is not sufficient authority from Scripture to say that God makes a certain claim with regard to the exclusivity of the method of salvation. The difference, of course, is the ground of the authority. Me versus the Bible as God’s Word. Fine. That’s a justifiable distinction. But, to say “I don’t know if I believe that they’re wrong” is like saying, “I think the Bible does not conflict with the claims of these other religions and has enough room for everyone.”

Seriously, have we so capitulated to postmodern relativism that we can’t now say anything definitively about what the Bible claims?

BTW, wanted to point out, for the fourteen millionth time, as if Christians in America don’t know this, that the mainstream media doesn’t know what the heck they’re talking about… It says, “Evangelism’s Rising Star” instead of Evangelicalism’s Rising Star.

4 Responses

  1. good post…the Lord told me, the dragon of rev is the body of unbelievers…those who mix wit the world (not holdin to truth, which is Christ, but add a little leaven of the pharisees which is spirit of this world)…but its not really surprisin, since wide is the way that leads to death…the narrow way is Christ only; mega churches and those who the world loves, n who live like the world dont belong to Christ anyway…be bless… -g-

  2. Interesting video. Haven’t seen that. I guess we can’t know or really believe anything anymore, hua?

    Blessings.

  3. Sweet post Scott. I’m fed up w/ these yahoos whom America looks to as “church leaders” and they don’t know what to say or do when the camera is on them. I mean come on… Olsteen barely teaches Jesus… he teaches “Health & Wealth.” So if I’m not “healthy” or “wealthy” I must not be pleasing God? Not to mention that the majority of his audience is upper-class white suburbian women. Oh well… enough on that.

  4. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with what Joel Osteen said in that video. Who are we to judge who goes to heaven or hell? Yes, I know the Bible and I live my life according to the doctrine as best I can, but who am I to tell somebody they are going to hell or heaven? I can demonstrate Christ in my everyday life and talk to people about Jesus, but I don’t believe it’s my place to tell someone that doesn’t believe in Christ that they’re going to hell. I will tell them what the Bible says and what I believe. I will educate them, but what they take away from it is up to them. Standing in front of somebody threatening them with eternal damnation will turn 99% of people away from Christ instead of giving them an understanding of the love and sacrifice God has set aside for them.

    Anybody that begins to follow Joel Osteen because he preaches what others call a “Cotton Candy Gospel” will begin to learn about God in a way they never would if they weren’t reached out to in the loving way Osteen presents the gospel. They will then begin to develop a relationship with God, and the Holy Spirit will convict them of what needs corrected in their life, not me.

    If Joel Osteen had given a definitive “Yes, Jews and all that deny Christ are going to hell” in that interview, there would be hundreds or possibly thousands of people that listen to Osteen drop their walk with Christ and never pick it up again, rather than following him for another few weeks and understanding what love God has for them, which is the foundation to a strong, lasting relationship with God.

    Yes, only God can judge a man’s heart, so you will never hear me say that somebody is going to hell.Condemnation is not the way to bring people to Christ, love is. Christ enabled me with the love I have for everybody I meet, so I will reflect that in our relationship, not try to frighten them into a walk with God.

Leave a Reply

