Misc: Finally Back, Will Be Next Sr. Minister, Google Search, and Mission Trip

Well, after a way-too-long hiatus, I’m back to blogging. Have had a crazy busy couple months leading up to our church’s congregational vote regarding whether I become the next Senior Minister… And I will, come February 2008. That’s nice to get past that, I must say. It’s been, uh, trying, in many ways.

Not that very many in our congregation read this blog, but, just in case, thanks so much for your many prayers and support during these recent months. A lot of folks have demonstrated a strong show of support and have been so encouraging. There have even been a good number of non-FCC Greeneville folks praying about this situation! Like, we’re talking… a few dozen or so. So, thanks so much for your encouragement. I’m looking forward to it. I’m following a great man of integrity who has been a real important steadying and health-building leader of influence over the last 7 years at church. He’s been in ministry some 46 years and I’ve (obviously) got a lot to learn from him. Thanks, Charles!

Google Search Page (Look here)This falls into the category of useless information… I am now on Page 1 of a Google search for my name: Scott Wakefield. I am the 4th one listed. This is supposed to be some sort of “You’ve arrived” moment, but I think, frankly, it’s almost exclusively due to the fact that I use Word Press for blogging, which apparently has a lot of Google search “pull” or something. I don’t wanna even pretend to understand how all this works, especially when I’ve only got some 1,500 hits or something like that. BTW, I’ve just begun to play around with Photoshop, the premier software for image production… as you can tell from the Google Search picture, I’ve still got a long way to go.

I’m working on some sort of angle for regular blogging, like, I’m gonna blog my thoughts on whatever book of the Bible I happen to be studying or something like that. I think that’s the most likely tack. Either that or some book I’m reading. I think this blogging thing is an important exercise for me. Keeps me regular (so to speak.)

Just returned last evening from a GREAT 10 day mission trip to Martin, SD. Kids were fantastic. It was a good first trip for many of them. We did children’s ministry (Kidz Club for local Native Indian population), visited a nursing home, and did some house painting. We went with YouthWorks!, who always does an awesome job. Saw tons of awesome landscape on the drive, Mount Rushmore, the Badlands, Wall Drug, and went to Southeast Christian Church on the way home. Great trip. Pics coming in the next couple days.

One Response

  1. Glad you’re back. Blessings in what sounds like a new area of ministry!!

Leave a Reply

