13-year-old Fashion Model?

This is crap. I think it’s outrageous and stupid. She’s a kid, for goodness’ sake. A kid. Apparently she just turned 13, so it’s okay. I think it’s exploitation and if it were most other industries, it’d be called “child labor” and would be illegal. So, what’s next, allowing underage girls to model lingerie? Here are a couple quotes from her:

“I believe that I can fit into women’s clothes. I can model women’s clothes, so I should be able to do it,” she said.

“It doesn’t matter about age, it matters that you can do the job. Modelling is all I’ve wanted to do since I was six – I don’t think I’m too young.”

This is why we have laws… because sometimes children shouldn’t be able to decide everything for themselves. And adults looking to “make a splash” or a dime with something like this shouldn’t be allowed to do whatever. (Make no mistake, the folks in charge of this thing knew what they were doing.) And limits are often a good thing.

3 Responses

  1. Amen, brother … keep on preaching!

  2. These are the same people who established Abercrombie models with their clothes half off, looking seductive. They even hire “buff” teenage guys to be “hosts” in their stores. Talk about sex selling! What sorts of messages do these advertising campaigns send to other teens?

    And the emphasis, believe me, in these modeling campaigns is not “innocence”…it’s seductive young virgins. I think I’m going to be sick.

    Keep railing!

  3. “And the emphasis, believe me, in these modeling campaigns is not “innocence”…it’s seductive young virgins. I think I’m going to be sick.”

    Seriously.

Leave a Reply

